Just so that you know with whom you are dealing with …

I was born in the heart of Berlin. After my happy time in Kindergarden, six years of elementary and seven years of grammar school, I decided to study physics in 2001. I did my Master of Science degree at University of Copenhagen in 2007 and my Dr. rer. nat. at Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron DESY / Humboldt University of Berlin in 2010. After slightly more than three years as a postdoc at the University of Copenhagen, I now lead a junior research group as lecturer (Akademischer Rat) at LMU Munich, where I finished my Habilitation in 2020.

1981 born in the heart of Berlin
1987–1993 elementary school
1993–2000 grammar school (Einstein-Oberschule Berlin)
2000 Military service in Goslar and Berlin-Tegel
2000–2001 voluntary military service at the Special Air Mission Wing of the Federal Ministry of Defence (with distinction and a stay abroad in the US)
2001–2006 physics studies at Humboldt-University of Berlin
2003–2010 work as self-employed web-designer
2004–2005 ERASMUS student exchange programme at the Niels Bohr Institute
2006–2007 master of science programme at the Niels Bohr Institute
2007 master of science (MSc) degree at the Niels Bohr Institute
2007–2010 graduate programme at DESY in Zeuthen / Humboldt-University of Berlin
2010 married my wife Heike
2010 Dr. rer. nat. (Ph.D.) degree at Humboldt-University of Berlin
2010–2014 postdoc position at the Niels Bohr Institute
2012 birth of my son Erik
2014–2020 lecturer (Akademischer Rat auf Zeit) / junior-group-leader position at LMU Munich
2014 birth of my daughter Karla
2020 habilitation (Dr. habil.) at LMU Munich